TOEFL: PEOPLE WHO CANT ACCEPT CRITISISM ARE NOT GOOD TEAM PLAYERS

Topic:[People who cannot accept the criticism from others will not be successful at working in a group.]

Recently, one topic always under debate is those successful workers need to accept criticism from others. Some people may think it is necessary to listen to others' opinion while others may deny this statement. Basically, I personally agree with this statement that criticisms from others are always the positive force for our personal improvement due to the following reasons.

To start with, others' suggestions can be objective for us. As known, people always tend to think in their own logic. Taking my own as example, when I was a graduate student, I always inclined to think that I am being nice to my lab-mate. However, one of my senior told me that some of my behavior, such as eating in the office, may makes others feel annoying. Suddenly, I discovered that much unintentional movement can usually be trouble for others but nothing for our self. Therefore, other people's opinions can always be objective that we can adjust our self by accepting it.

Moreover, accepting criticisms from others can make us have good relationship with co-workers. Admittedly, good relationship is always the most important thing for a group of people, especially in workplaces. As the proverb says, "Two heads are better than one." Things can always become better by having discussion or criticisms. For example, if a smart engineer tend to finish a project by his own effort without taking others' criticisms, he will be blamed in the future and finally have no friend to help him on his work. On the contrast, his work and relationship are able to become better simultaneously by accepting criticisms from others. Without good relationship by accepting others' opinion, people can always be failed on their work.

Last but not the least, we can always re-exam our attitude on working by others' criticisms. Mostly, people will tend to feel tired and finally become lazy on their work after working for a long time. However, people usually do not discover that they are not as hard as they are when they firstly enter into the company. By taking others' criticism on us, we can always re-exam our attitude on working. Finally, we may be promoted since others have noticed us to be diligent all the time. Thus, only people who can accept others' criticism can always become successful on work.

To sum, according to the points mentioned above, it is believed that people cannot have a successful career without accepting others' opinion. Once if people accept others' criticism and finally make some improvement on themselves, it will be great for both themselves and the company.