IELTS Writing Task 2 - Nowadays many people choose ready-made food and refuse to cook at home

Nowadays many people choose ready-made food and refuse to cook at home. Why do you think it happens? What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a choice?

Many prefer precooked meals and do not want to make home-cooked food these days. This occurs because people believe precooked meals are more convenient. While eating ready-made food is time-saving, it can pose a threat to health.

Convenience is the primary factor that people choose packaged food over cooking at home. Cleaning up after eating is easier since disposable containers and cutlery are used for packaged food. Conversely, kitchenware and dishes need to be washed after meals. Many schools and workplaces provide reheating devices like microwave ovens and vending machines selling ready-made food. In fast-paced cities like Tokyo, people often eat instant food to keep up with their busy schedules.

On one hand, precooked meals are a time-saver for students and workers. They allow people to attend to important matters or focus on more enjoyable things. For example, people can have more time to indulge in recreational activities or rest after work. Some online platforms even cater food delivered to doors with a low fee. People can benefit from eating food with consistent quality and spending relatively less time.

On the other hand, however, consuming packaged meals poses significant health risks. Many meals off-the-shelf are found to contain high sugar and cholesterol as they have processed ingredients. In addition, the consumption of packaged food can become a habit, especially for children. For example, ready-made food is said to be linked to obesity, a disease that is becoming more common among schoolchildren.

In conclusion, people in recent times tend to eat packaged food because it causes them less trouble. By doing so, they put their time to better use but they may face health consequences.