Some people claim that teaching children of different abilities together will benefit them

some people think educate children of different abilities together will benefit them. Others think intelligent children should be taught separately and give special courses, discuss both side and give own opinion!

Traditionally, schools treat every student equally and group students in a class based on their age. However, there is a growing popularity that schools intend to develop more elite students by separating intelligent children from others and giving them more intensified courses. This essay intends to discuss the views of two different teaching methods while also present my own opinion.

Firstly, intelligent students are quick learners that they can master what they learned faster than others. Allocating them to a normal class may hinder their learning progress since they are capable of learning more than what the normal course can give them. Therefore, it is believed that grouping those students based on the level of intelligence allows teachers to design specific programs for them to utilize their full capacity of learning ability.

On the other hand, the counter argument suggests that distinguishing talented students with special treatments may impose negative effects on their personality. The recognized students may have a sense of perception that they are superior than others. As a result, they may develop negative attitudes such as being arrogant and over-confident. Besides, a class that consists of students with various levels of intelligence may have its benefits. It is because students can compete with each other academically and learn from the best student in the class.

Personally, I believe children should be treated equally in the school. It is because when schools are allowed to identify the intellectual students, they may incline to neglect the average students and emphasize on training those talented students.

To conclude, both teaching methods have their pros and cons. Yet, I am personally in favour of the traditional one since every student should receive fair treatment regardless of their intellectual levels.