Some people consider that several subjects like Maths and Philosophy should be optional for study

Writing task 2 - Education

Some people think that because some children find some subjects such as mathematics and philosophy difficult they ought to be optional instead of compulsory.

To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

Answer:

Up to now, education has always been a matter of social concern. Some people consider that several subjects like Maths and Philosophy should be optional in the children's study program because of their difficulty. While I accept that children should have a right to choose their favorite subjects, I still believe that Maths and philosophy are fundamental science subjects that every child needs to learn.

On the one hand, studying compulsory subjects in schools can bring about some drawbacks. First, if children have to learn these subjects, they will find them time-consuming and ineffective. For example, students who are strong in literature or art, consider that knowledge of algebra is useless for their career in the future. Second, difficult subjects may create a negative studying environment. When children have to participate in such difficult lessons like Philosophy, they may sleep in class or even drop out of school. This may lead to more serious social problems such as video game addiction or a rise in the crime rate.

On the other hand, Maths and Philosophy are basic science subjects which help to provide students with background knowledge. In terms of Maths, it helps children to develop vital skills such as calculation, analytical skill, logical thinking, problem-solving skill, and decision-making skill. It is obvious that people do find difficulties in paying their bills, calculating their time if they do not know how to calculate. When it comes to Philosophy, this subject brings children an overview of the natural world. In addition, through philosophy, children get knowledge about the relationship between human being and natural world as well as the rules that the nature world operates, which are essential in every aspect of their life

To sum up, although studying Maths and Philosophy is essential for children in their life, children's choice for subjects that they learned should be considered