People Costs on Certain Needs in Ireland, Italy, Spain, Sweden and Turkey in 2002

People costs on certain needs in Ireland, Italy, Spain, Sweden and Turkey in 2002, measured in proportion, are displayed in the table. It is important to note that all countries had virtually similar priorities on their spending, whilst food/drinks/tobacco occupied the highest percentage and leisure/education was the least.

Looking on food/drinks/tobacco category, Turkey broke a record, at 32.14%, whereas its leisure/education needs was one-eighths, though still the greatest than the other nations. Calculating for a slightly lower level was Ireland. In contrast, Sweden was the lowest which almost a half of Turkey's, stood at 15.77%.

In clothing/footwear, there was the biggest percentage of national consumer expenditure in Italy, exactly 9%. A low level in this criteria was found in Sweden, at only 5.4%. Finally, all five countries allocated very low proportion in Leisure/education. Interestingly, all nations showed the same scale of prioritities, started from highest to lowest were food/drinks/tobacco, clothing/footwear, leisure/education respectively.