TOEFL: People always debate on whether or not children should follow their parents' career paths.

Hey guys, I am preparing for my TOEFL IBT test and I really count on your help with this essay. Please feel free to comment. Thanks a lot.

topic: it is better for children to choose jobs that are similar to their parents' jobs than to choose jobs that are very different from their parents' jobs

People always debate on whether or not children should follow their parents' career paths. Some people hold the opinion that a young adult having a different job from his parents will experience a fresh life which has more fun, while others believe that having a similar career with their parents will make life easier. From my perspective, it is better for us to choose jobs that are similar to our parents' jobs.

To begin with, being influenced by our parents extrinsically and intrinsically, we are good at our parents' jobs. So we will be more competitive to do the same job and feel a sense of achievement, making us love our jobs even more. According to a survey, people who have a similar job with their parents usually achieve much than people in the same career who do not. Take my own experience for an example. I grew up in a accounting family and before I finished grade two, I already can calculate numbers from my father's account book via abacus. This huge lead helps me to be one of the top students in accounting major. Therefore, choosing jobs that are similar to our parents' jobs will definitely bring us a competitive gesture.

In addition, our parents will give us a hand in the career, which they familiar with. When we encounter some difficulties in our job, our parents always can come up with constructive suggestions since they have been in the same situation before. Last summer, I was struggle with how to audit companies effectively during my internship and my father as an experienced accounting showed me what they usually do to polish financial report. Thanks to my father's help I finish my job fast and well. Imagine to someone whose parents have no experience with their children's job, there is nothing they can do about their children's problems.

Admittedly, experiencing a different career from our parents may make us feel fresh for a day or two. However, when enthusiasm fades away, we will feel helpless and lose our confidence in a completely new area. This is the last thing we want.

To sum up, according to all the reasons discussed above, I strongly recommend children choose the jobs same with their parents' jobs.