People have different views on when to let children learn a foreign language. (IELTS)

Topic:

Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Please help me correct. Thanks!

People have different views on that when to let children learn a foreign language is better for children. While some people prefer to let children learn foreign languages in secondary school rather than primary school, I believe that the advantages for children to learn in primary school far outweigh the disadvantages.

On the one hand, children of primary age maybe too young to know the importance of learning foreign languages. If we force our children to go to cram school during other students are playing in the parks, we might make them lose their enthusiasm in learning languages. Besides, practicing the same grammar repeatedly and memorizing large amount of vocabulary are the two most painful but necessary steps in learning a language. If children keep doing these boring things without knowing why they have to learn this language, it also may result in the adverse effect on their way of learning languages in the future.

However, I would argue that we should let children learn languages the earlier the better, because it's a pity if we miss the stage when they have the greatest learning ability. Younger children have better abilities of imitation and memorization, which can help them have a great pronunciation and remember grammar and vocabulary for a long time. Furthermore, if our children are ahead of other same age children at the beginning, they will also have stronger motivation to learn the language.

In conclusion, I believe that it's better to let children learn foreign languages in primary school than in secondary school.