People have different views regarding the best age to learn new languages

Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary schools rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

People have different views regarding the best age to learn new languages. There are many people believe that students at primary schools should start learning other languanges and should not wait till secondary school. However, this view may bring some advantages along with some disadvantages. This essay will further discuss if include foreign language study to the primary stages is beneficial and if disadvantages may occur in the later stages.

On the one hand, picking up a foreign language enables children to develop a better foundation in a foreign language. They are more likely to speak it more confidently in front of the crowds. It is evident that children who learn a new language tend to make fewer mistakes in writing an essay. To mention that, they will have the ability to express things more clearly as they have a better vocabulary than those who start late. In addition, they may come across with foreign cultures when learning a foreign language. By knowing the culture of others, they may not facing the cultural shock and able to adapt well when staying in other countries for the purpose like studying. Obviously, they are become more knowledgeable and more open-minded which help them to look at a specific issue from different perspectives.

On the other hand, graders studying only three or four years in the school even at that moment do not properly concentrate on the lessons. It could be difficult to push children to learn something else besides their curriculum subjects. For instance, my little brother always wants to play, even if there are loose ends. In addition, students of a primary school firstly should learn the fundamentals of exact science such as Mathematics and Physics. Otherwise, they might not understand them later. Furthermore, if a student does not know his native language perfectly, it is useless to learn a foreign dialect for him.

In conclusion, I believe that teaching a foreign language would be more appropriate at primary level as its advantages clearly outweigh its disadvantages.