Some people fail in school, but end up being successful in life. Why do you think that is the case?

Some people fail in school, but end up being successful in life. Why do you think that is the case? What is the most important thing to succeed in life?

grades at school sometimes doesn't matter

Success plays a huge role nowadays. Therefore, it is important to have a good education. But, education is not everything. Many people who failed in school ended-up being successful in life because grades don't measure intelligence.

Firstly, our parents and ancestors have always thought us that the schooling system is mandatory and without education we would not find a job and live in poverty and not be successful. Personally, I think that this case is false. There are many exemplary people who did not have education and contributed to today's life in diplomatic matters, science or in many more fields. For instance, Benjamin Franklin (One of the founding fathers) did not even have a high school degree or Michael Faraday who contributed to the world of science.

To add up, my understandings show that the problem does not arouse from ourselves but from a governmental state and our ancestors because they are the one who pushes us to enroll in schools and have degrees.

Secondly, I think that self-education is far greater than the school system. The most important thing to succeed in life would be intelligence and self-esteem. These two factors are far more needed than a diploma. Let's face it, if your grades are excellent but you lack of intelligence and your personality is bad, that would not get you the finest job. You might as well not get employed at all.

In conclusion, every action that we take in life has its consequences. Either, you are going to have a diploma or not, that does not define your intelligence nor personal characteristics. Success is the result of hard work, learning from failure and persistence.