Writing IELTS task 2 : People still can be fashionable without spending much money

Some people argue that fashion items cost too much money. Others say that this is acceptable because fashion in an important part of life.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people think that being fashionable is too expensive, while others argue it is an essential thing to support their appearance. I believe that it is important to be fashionable but it does not suppose to cost much money.

Fashion items, especially the branded stuffs, are often priced so expensive. Some people think it is fair enough because most of them have a high quality as well. In addition, people who need to buy it usually are because of several reasons, such as their job pretension, lifestyle, following their favourite artist, or not want to be looked outdated. They believe that fashionable dress makes them more confident.

However, fashionable appearance is not always about something expensive with a new brand. People can combine their old items or overhaul it to make it stylish. Even if they have to purchase a new one, they have to be smart enough to select a fashionable and high quality dress with a suitable price. A fashionable stuff sometimes has an unbelievable price whereas it can be cheaper in the different shop. In my experience, I have ever found a usual shirt priced three times more expensive than a similar shirt in other clothing store. Of course, it does not make any sense.

In conclusion, what people wear is an important thing to build a good impression. The price also usually has a positive correlation with the quality. However, people have to fix it with their financial capability. They still can be fashionable without spending much money if they are smart enough to mix and match the fashion items or find the stuffs with a normal or cheaper price.