Some people are in favour to live in a house, others see more advantages living in a flat

House or a flat? Different opinions

Nowadays, it is argued whether it is better to live in a house or in a flat. Some people hold the opinion that houses are more convenient to live in because of more space and luxury, while others assert that living in a flat is more practical. This essay supports the second point of view and I will illustrate in the next paragraphs that living in a flat is much better because it is cheaper and easier to clean.

Firstly, living in a house is an attractive choice for many people who seek spaciousness and extra amenities. But, cost is a very important factor also to consider when you choose your dwelling place. It is well known that houses are more expensive than flats in the same living districts. According to a survey done by rent., the average American house costs $50,000 more than the average flat of the same number of rooms. The fact that all the building's bills are shared between the tenants makes it always a better choice for people with tighter budget.

Secondly, household tasks are very energy and time demanding which makes people think about having a small place to live in and save a lot of their time rather than owning a big place with so much cleaning and maintenance responsibilities. The average house consists of at least 3 rooms, lounge, kitchen and garden, not counting other amenities like swimming pool. Obviously, this would require at least two persons for cleaning weekly and still a cumbersome task. in addition, busy people and students don't have this time to spend taking care of their houses and so a small apartment will be a perfect solution for them.

To conclude, I don't think that owning a house has more advantages than owning a flat, on the contrary, a lot of times people are inclined towards buying a small flat because it is cheaper and easier to clean and handle.