People today do not feel safe either at home or when they are out. Causes and proposed solutions.

Citizen's security

Nowadays, globally, people feel the insecurity of going out and even staying at home because there are uncertain events that cannot be anticipated.

There are several possible reasons for this problem. Firstly, Criminal Crimes such as rape, kidnapping, holdapping, homicide, murder, terrorist attacks and other oppressions. In detail, in the Philippines, these offensive crimes are rampant and associated with drug addiction by criminals who committed those violations. Furthermore, people with the influence of drugs are not able to think straight, do not have remorse and conscience of what they are doing and because of it, they engaged in an illegal act punishable by law. Secondly, Domestic Violence which is common among family members who went through it before. Moreover, it is tied to poverty, drug and alcohol abuse, and those with anger mismanagement. In addition, women and children are particularly the victims.

Lastly, Natural Calamities such as flood, earthquake and tsunami are commonly catastrophes encountered in my homeland. For instance, when Typhoon Yolanda strucked my hometown, it washed out the homes and properties there and because of that, many lost their homes, another example is the eruption of Mount Pinatubo at one area in my nation which killed hundreds of Filipinos.

Some potential solutions have been suggested, here are some of it. First, Government Authorities should increase the years of penalty for lawbreakers. Additionally, a group of individuals, especially women, should train in Martial Arts to defend themselves when encounter with attackers, and for minors, parents should teach them not to go and speak with strangers or accept anything from them. As well as, help them memorize their full name, address and emergency contact number for younger children, hence when they are lost, the Police Officers or good Samaritans will find this information useful in tracking right the child's location. Beside this, Law Enforcement should put security cameras in Public areas such as streets, bridges, near mall and other open spaces. Second, family members, particularly, the married couple should talk to a marriage counselor about their issues to address their problem, voice out their feelings and what is in their minds. Thus, communication is the key to understand each other and to avoid committing harm to one another, and also to create a harmonious relationship together. Yet, if there is already evidence of abuse and a threat to victims, another part of the family or neighbors or even the defender should report the abuser to the Police Department and rescue the victimized person or persons. Subsequently, DSWD (Department of Social and Welfare Development) could extend protection for children. Lastly, Media sectors should forecast news regarding upcoming natural tragedies in your area to prepare for immediate evacuation and rescue operations. Eventually, Government and Private Organizations should be ready to prepare relief goods for those who will be affected.

The world, the people of recent generation feel unsafe anymore, because of the unfortunate circumstances happening at the present and being diligent, cautious and ready we could protect ourselves from ill-fated incidents.