Ielts Writing task 2 - People forget the meaning of festivals and only want to enjoy themselves

Topic:

Most people have forgotten the meaning behind traditional or religious festivals; during festival periods, people nowadays only want to enjoy themselves.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

These days, it is often argued that individuals no longer remember the underlying meaning of traditional or religious festivals, and during the festival time, people just want to have fun. While I agree that people do prioritize enjoyment at the festival, I disagree with the view that they have forgotten the festival's meaning.

On the one hand, after a year of hard work, people look forward to festivals as a time to relax and take a break from busy life. For example, religious festivals like Christmas are often be seen as an excuse to party and shop, with people costume like Santa greetings in front of malls and playing with children. Similar behavior could be seen during some non-religious festivals, such as the Vietnamese Lunar New Year when all of the Vietnamese students are allowed to be absent from school, and their parent does not have to work, they often gathering around and decorating their homes, giving and receiving presents, as well as buying new clothes.

On the other hand, I do not agree with the idea that the original meaning of festivals has been forgotten. This is because at an early age, Vietnamese offsprings have known about the meaning of their festivals and culture through their family. Additionally, in primary school, the teacher would tell students stories about the legend and the history of these festivals. For example, children in Vietnam are taught about the Lunar New Year's history and the reason for celebrating it. The same is true for festivals with a religious background, such as Christmas or buddha's birthdays, parents will tell their children the story behind these occasions.

In conclusion, I believe not just because people often celebrate festivals with joyfulness, it would mean they have forgotten the festival's value.