IELTS ESSAY: Why people are getting more and more weight and more and more unhealthy

In many countries, there is a trend that the average weight of people is increasing but their levels of fitness are decreasing. In my view, unhealthy eating habits and the lack of physical exercise are the two main factors.

Nowadays, suffering from heavy burdens come from study or work, every individual is eager to lead a convenient life. It is no denying that cooking is really a waste of time so many people tend to choose fast food as their meals. When they come back home, the only thing need to be done is to put their dinner into microwaves and after dinner, they do not have to wash dirty dishes. Convenient as it is, people underestimate the fact that the junk food they have eaten contains a great many calories which will convert into fats in the body easily. As is shown by a study in China recently, about 20% teenagers eat fast food like KFC more than three times a week and approximately half of them are overweight.

Another main factor is the lack of exercise. As is well known to all, as we grow older, our metabolism rates slow down. Thus it is no strange that we will gain more fats even if we eat as more as we do when we were young. Due to that, it is essential for the old ones to take up more exercise such as walking, slow running, swimming and so forth. I am strongly in favor of this view because the older ones around me who take more physical exercise frequently are obviously healthier than those who do it rarely.

In this situation, government should take some financial measures to make green vegetables cheaper or raise the price of junk food. Just imagine, if people can't afford to eat junk food frequently, they may choose to eat more healthy food. What's more, some prizes should be given to those who always work out in sports centers, which can attract people to do more exercise effectively.