Ielts writing task 2: why many people still go hungry although the advance made in agriculture

Reasons for food shortage in the modern world

In spite of the advance made in agriculture, many people in the world still go hungry. What is the cause? What can be done

Although, agriculture, in this age, have been developed considerably. There are still a worrying number of people who are hungry. In this essay, after giving some reasons, I will suggest solution for this problem.

The two main shortcomings is probably lack of arable land means. Firstly, people recently use land for accommodation and building which are distinct to serve residents. It is not advisable that urbanization increase at such a high speech, resulting in insufficient soil for planting and breeding. It is clearly that the growth of agriculture is not effective if there is not sufficient land. The second reason is technology applied for agriculture seem to be expensive and unsuitable for every pocket. These modern techniques are just utilized in developed countries which have strong economy condition. In Africa, take an example, an underdeveloped continent which includes the backward and poor countries, they can not cause the technology because of its high expense. From all the reasons, despite the fact that the agriculture in in developing trend, it still can not the efficient solution for the situation of food shortage.

To solve this problem, I personally think that vertical farming will be an answer for lack of food. It is a cultivating vegetable vertically by new agriculture, which combine the design of building and farm all together in high-rise buildings. It is an ingenious method of agriculture to produce food in any places, even inside crowded cities where arable land is unavailable or rare at the most. Vertical farming is perceived as capable measure for not only developed countries where is unavailable soil but also poor countries where have not sufficient money to cover all the expense of modern technology.

To conclude, there are two main reason causing food shortage. One is lack of arable land. The other is about money. It is predicted that vertical farming will be the reasonable solution, being suitable with the remaining reasons