People get information through news, but meanwhile are uncertain about the truth of these news

IELTS WRITING TASK 2 - Hi! I am practicing on IELTS Writing.

Nowadays, people get information through news and papers, but meanwhile are uncertain about the truth of these news.

Should we believe the journalists?

What qualities should a good journalist or correspondent have?

Legit and fake stories

Today, mass media provide a lot of information for society through newspapers and electronic news yet the validity is still doubted. This essay will discuss about how far people can trust the journalists and what credibility a journalist should have.

It is undeniable that journalism activity has delivered a vast information to society. However, people should not totally believe the information or news that is delivered by journalists. It is because today there are a lot of competition among those journalistic workers to reach the best rating view or to be the fastest to provide news. Because of the competition, they then tend to do everything including manipulating the data to make the information sound more sensational or delivering the information as fast as they can without doing deep observation and interview to ensure the validity of the data. It results in the invalidity of the data and information they spread to people.

Every kind of profession requires certain qualities, so does journalism. The fundamental characteristics that journalists should have are being neutral and independent. Journalistic workers should be neutral and should not take a side of any group. By doing so, they can cover both sides and looking at any angles of a phenomenon before presenting it into the news form. Moreover, they should be independent from any pressure and interest of any group so they can be free to report any occurance and fact as it is without intervense from any party.

To conclude, people should clarify the rightness of an information and should not totally trust what journalists report. Furthermore, a good correspondent should have independency and neutrality in accomplishing their task.