IELTS TASK 2: Should people judge others by their clothes?

Some people say that the clothes people wear are the most important indication of what they are like. Others, however, say that people should not be judged by the clothes they wear.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Clothes not only protect humans' bodies, it is believed that garments conventionally reflect the performance and characteristic. For this reason, people are precisely judged others as what they wear. However, it is argued that judging people by their clothes is inaccurate opinion. Although dress has different meaning for people, I strongly believe that clothes are the primary need, while the aims of wearing clothes depend on the person.

These days and ages, most people consider fashion plays an important role in their personalities. In particular, people who work as farmers tend to wear a thin and simple shirt with bright colours as they work in farmland in which the sun light is very blazing. In contrast, official workers wear the formal neat suit since they work in an office where the weather is colder and a lot of attractive communication are built between employers and customers. The different clothes portray different personals, so it is acceptable for others to indicate what people are like by their clothes.

Yet there are some who do not believe that what people wear are the imitation of their attitudes since every person has a different style, they wear what they want. No one cannot generalize the characteristics of people as the clothes which are covered their body are same. Another view is clothes are the primary need, everyone has a large chance to apply any styles which are provided comfort in their life. Therefore, it is a false belief to judge people by their dress.

In my opinion, it is a tolerable to create a description of people based on their clothes because many occupations in our country require specific costumes, such as teachers and the government's employees should use their uniforms. As a result, public tend to describe these workers as a polite and responsible person since it is reflected in their jobs. Nevertheless, every person has a right to wear any dress, so the previous belief cannot accept generally, it depends on person's aims.

All in all, it is clear that people tend to judge others by their clothes since it can represent others' characteristics. However, it is not a universal habit some believe that clothes are their predominant needs, not the reflection of their attitudes. It would be better if every person has a deep understanding about others' characteristics before judging them by their clothes.