IELTS - Why do people learn a foreign language? Show the reasons.

Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should leern a foreign language.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Foreign language knowledge and opportunities

Many people believe that the appropriate time for them to acquire a new language is when they happen to visit a country or start to work there. However, I myself believe that there are far more reasons for a person to learn such thing as a new language.

On the one hand, it is true to argue that the most common reason for people to learn foreign languages are job opportunities. As can be seen clearly, bilinguals often have advantages applying for vacancies in both local and international corporations as the local ones need their strengths to collaborate with the global ones and vice versa. It is also reasonable to learn the local language before visiting the country. It is common knowledge that some languages look similar, but the wrong use of words may result in bad consequences. This way, getting to know the local languages allows tourists to overcome the language barriers and communicate with the local people without any difficulties and confusions.

On the other hand, I believe that there are some other reasons rather than job opportunities and travel experiences that need to be taken into consideration. Firstly, there are still language aficionados who learn languages due to their passions and interests. For example, a French aficionado who is particularly into France and eagers to discover every aspect of this country can learn more than just words while acquiring French as the language itself covers the country's culture. Secondly, some language learners consider learning such things as foreign languages help exercise their brains the same way as other brain training exercises do, and hence, make them smarter as the learning processes go on.

In conclusion, although the views of considering acquiring foreign languages a way of building one's careers seem to true to some people, I believe that there are still other more significant reasons for others to do so.

By the way, I am going to sit an IELTS exam this August, and I would appreciate if you can point out my strengths and weaknesses so that I can improve the next time I write. Also, I would like my writing to be scored as an IELTS writing paper if possible.

Kind regards!