People should learn to take the responsibility for themselves and the community when they are young

Some people believe that teenagers should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time.

This can benefit teenagers and the community as well.

To what extent do you agree or disagree.

People in all societies should start developing their skills and learn to take the responsibility for themselves and the community when they are teenagers. To help teenagers meet the expectation, many believe that they should take part in unpaid community works at leisure time so that both teenagers and the community can achieve a win-win situation. I too believe that the perspective has more advantages than its drawbacks.

Firstly, those who work in community must have lots of opportunities to communicate with others thus are able to polish their verbal skills and develop personalities. For example, if teenagers try to teach the children at rural area where education resources are relatively limited, they have to reorganize and simplify the knowledges and, possibly make them more attractive to the children. This skill can also be applied to many situations in their lifetimes. Secondly, working in community also encourages teenagers to cooperate with a variety of people. It requires not only personal skills but also patience, tolerance, and empathy to accomplish the goal of the group. Thirdly, making contribution to other people can help them recognize their own value which leads to a healthier mind.

However, some people may challenge that teenagers should get paid if they contribute to the society. Indeed, we should not expect them to devote all their free time to serve the community for free. Nonetheless, at the stage of teen, earning money is also not the priority for them. They certainly have the right to choose whatever they are willing to do, yet doing unpaid community work is undoubtedly a commendable option.

In conclusion, I agree with the notion that teenagers doing unpaid works in community has positive effects on both themselves and the society.