IELTS: People live in small family units rather than big family groups. Is it positive or negative?

TOPIC:

As countries develop, their populations tend to live individually or in small family units. In your opinion, what is this cause and what are the effects on society.

In many countries today, people in cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than in large, extended family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

It is true that increasing people prefer small family units to extended family groups. In this essay, I will explain the causes of this tend and the effects on our society.

There are two main reasons why people tend to live individually or in small family units, which are objective reasons and subjective reasons respectively. Objectively, technological and scientific breakthroughs have increased people's mobility and independence. For instance, people can stay in touch with their families by various electronic means of communication quickly and effectively; even they do not live together in a big house. Furthermore, material prosperity changes people's sense of family. Whereas people would like to be economic independence from their families, the freedom and privacy of individual family members becomes more and more important. By contrast, people want to avoid family conflict subjectively. In other words, there are much more conflict in large, extended families in which generations live together, especially between the young and the old. Moreover, nowadays, the increasing divorce rate leads to many single-parent families. Therefore, many people would like to live alone or in small families.

This trend has significant effects on our society. Some people think that it is a negative trend. It seems reasonable because living small family units would weaken family bonds, which result from a lack of face-to-face communication. Particularly, elderly parents feel unwanted by their family when they live apart from their adult children, which might result in speeding up their mental aging process. In addition, children living in broken families may feel lonely and isolated which is harmful to children's psychological heath. In contrast, living in extended families not only provides opportunities to communicate with families, but also builds a sense of belong among family members. For example, if young people had no time to take care of their little children because of busy work, their retired parents could help them in a extended family.

Other people agree that living alone or in small family units has positive effects on our society. As the reasons mentioned above, it could avoid family conflict, which is likely to lead to break families. For instance, a great deal of families in China divorce because couple living with parents of husbands contributes to bad relationships between wives and the parents in law. Furthermore, living individually or in small family units would be much freer, while people have more private time to do what they really want to, such as travelling for a long distance or learning something special. Moreover, children living in small family units would be more independent, which could prepare them for their adult lives, while retired people living apart from their adult children could reduce children's burden.

Overall, I tend to agree that whether living in small family units or in extended families depends on different people of different circumstances. I believe that our society encourages people living in happiness and blessedness regardless of the types of families.