Task 2 IELTS - People living longer after retirement - people's health

People are living longer after they retire. What are the problems? What can be done to solve the problems?

--------------------------My Work -----------------------------------------------

In this day and age, people's health is being significantly improved thanks to advances in healthcare. As a result, more and more people enjoy extended lifespan after their retirement. While there are manifold problems stemming from this scenario, there are just as many tangible solutions to tackle them.

The drawbacks of having longer life expectancy pose a couple of threats on a social basis. Firstly, it is inevitable that city population may be subject to steady increases. This is because birth rate is getting faster while death rate is becoming slower, which creates intense stress on urban population. Secondly, another dilemma might come in the name of housing shortage which is the result of high demands in living spaces. Consequently, housing prices will also be on the rise as retired work force usually spend their earnings on properties, trying to buy up houses to store as a lucrative investment for their descendants.

Challenging as the problems may seem, some viable measures can be employed to ameliorate such unfavorable situations. Regarding city overpopulation, the government can subsidize into countryside amenities such as public places where the elder can socialize and have quality time with their peers. This may attract people of over working age to the outskirts, therefore, substantially reducing the number of urban citizens. With respect to not only housing shortage but also expensive accommodations, more apartments should be constructed, targeting the middle-class as well as offering low-interest mortgage loans so that a wide range of citizens can afford their homes.

In conclusion, the major worries arisen from prolonged life expectancy after retirement can come in forms of pressure on either urban population or living spaces. However, these issues can be met with practicable measures such as investing in countryside amenities and building more affordable apartments.