More and more people no longer read newspaper or watch tv programs to get news. They get news about

tv and newspaper as a source of news is becoming obsolete

It is true that more individuals access news from the internet instead of traditional channels. In my opinion, this trend has both positive and negative effects.

On the one hand, online media positively affects our society. Compared to conventional newspapers, journalists and editors can post information on their channels, such as Twitter, immediately; meanwhile, readers are capable of receiving updated news through a portable device without the time and space limits. Additionally, net-report can provide various contents. For example, family members may subscribe to several magazines from different companies a decade ago, but they can now access their preferred content through a small screen. Finally, the information delivered through the network can be easily stored and retrieved, reducing materials and transportation costs, like trees and fuels.

On the other hand, the negative influence of electronic media popularity should be alarming. The most significant one is authenticity. The text published by a traditional news provider is usually verified and revised by multiple editors. However, the internet is filled with unconfirmed and even wrong messages because everyone can draft and send subjective and lopsided comments, which can mislead other viewers. Furthermore, some reporters and internet celebrities prefer to post adverse and exaggerated events because this news is easier to spread and gain more traffic. The increasing exposure to insecure and violent incidents will intensify the public's sense of insecurity.

In conclusion, the popularity of online media has certainly benefited individuals, but not all of the outcomes of this trend have been positive.