Most people no longer remember the original purposes of traditional or religious festivals

The forgotten identity of festivals

Some people argue that we no longer remember the original purposes of festivals, and most of them treat them

as a opportunity to have fun. While I agree that enjoyment seems to be a main goal during festival times, I do not agree that people have forgotten the meaning of these festivals.

On the one hand, traditional or religious festivals have certainly become a occasion for celebration. In VietNam, Hung Vuong festival is a good example of a festival period when people just pay attention to celebrate a party, have nice meals, and have fun with friends and family. Most people look forward to the Hung Vuong Festival as a day to enjoy a day-off rather than practice religion. Gradually, most people have just remembered the Hung Vuong Festival as a day for them to relax and have enjoyment.

However, I disagree with the idea that the underlying meaning of such festivals has been forgotten. In VietNam primary schools, children are taught in detail about the religious reason for celebrating the Hung Vuong Festival. For instance, when the Hung Vuong Festival is coming, children will learn some History's lessons about the effortness which Hung Kings made to maintain peace for VietNam's residents and protect the country against the rivals. Thus, in the sense that people generally learn the stories behind these occasions at an early age.

In conclusion, although enjoyment is a primary goal of them during festivals, I believe that they still have an awareness of knowing the reason why these festivals exist.