Ielts writing 2 - people may face certain difficulties when they move outside their home country

Living in a foreign country cause social and practical problems

Topic : Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some say that living in a foreign country can lead to severe social and practical issues. I completely agree that people may face certain difficulties when they move outside their home country.

There are two problems that people may need to deal with when they immigrated to other places. Immigrants will face up to the problems of different cultural background and the cultural shock therein. For example, a Chinese may find it hard to adapt the custom of India that he should eat his meal by bare hands instead of chopsticks. Furthermore, I believe that language barrier may put their social life in jeopardy by causing misunderstanding between them and neighbors. If they cannot make friends among their neighborhood and work place, they may not be able to blend in the society.

Besides, practical trouble will arise during the stay in foreign land. Finding a job is not an easy task for outsiders because of the cultural differences and language skill despite their excellent professional skills. Therefore, being a foreigner, people are less competitive than the local. In most countries, high-knowledge-based works such as teacher, doctor as well as lawyer are less likely to hire a non-native speaker. This is the threshold to their career development if they are not planning to reconsider and alter their job. In my opinion, this might accumulate their pressure and may eventually arouse emotional problems.

In conclusion, it seems to me that leaving your motherland and move to another country is not worthwhile due to the many drawbacks in social and practical aspect.