IELTS Writing Task 2: More people are moving away from an agriculture background to big cities

Topic: More and more people are moving away from an agriculture background to relocate in cities in order to look for work. What will be the consequences of this? What solutions can you offer?

development in rural areas is necessary

Nowadays, people prefer working in urban area to farming in their hometown. This trend will raise the issue of overpopulation in some megacities. This pressing problem challenges the authorities' ability to create more jobs and attract people to settle in country side.

Indeed, overpopulation in urban areas straining city infrastructure, as public transportations, roads and housing will not be able to meet demands. Infrastructure take time and money to progress which is not at the same rate as people migrant to big cities. The result can be seen in traffic jam, raise in house rent price, quickly damaged roads and so forth. In addition, needs for basic necessities can be exceeded cities' ability to supply. For example, there may not enough fresh water and electricity for all households. Shortage in necessities will affect citizens' life quality and hurt the economy. As the number of rural migrants raise due to people seeking jobs, authorities need to ensure the balance between urban and rural employment.

To tackle this problem, government should make long-sighted improvement in country sides such as improve in infrastructure and create more jobs. The main attraction of big cities is they have more job opportunities with higher standard wages. Therefore, improvement in infrastructure can encourage companies and manufactures to be opened in these areas. As quality of life and salary rates are improved, people are more likely to stay in their hometown than migrant to urban centre.

In conclusion, overpopulation due to migrant rates can causes catastrophic consequences, government need to address this problem by long-term development in rural areas.