Some people are of the opinion that looking back the past is waste of time

To some pp, studying the past has little value in the modern world. Why do you think it is important to do so? What will be the effect if children are not taught history?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some people are of the opinion that looking back the past is wasteful of time in today society while others claim that studying history are of great benefits for human, especially children. I am convinced by the latter view and do believe that if schools make light of teaching their pupils historical values, this likely leaves unwanted consequences for following reasons.

It is undeniable that doing research on historical periods providing explanations for range of situations, giving us insights into different ways of life. Take Vietnam which underwent devastating wars as an example. Only when understanding how hard their ancestors struggle to protect the country's independence do Vietnamese following generations cherish their life. As for children in particular, it is studying history that enables them to cultivate such necessary skills. For example, youngsters could probably learn how to analyse material, do basic sorting and research, which nurtures their critical and logical thinking.

However, there is every likelihoods that our society can be adversely affected if children are discouraged from studying history. Specifically, a child without fundamental knowledge of national history can hardly feel attached to their country. As a result, these citizens are unlikely to preserved the historic values and build up national loyalty. This possibly leads to social unrest and diplomatic complexities. Moreover, children, undoubtedly, can make the mistakes their former generations has had if they are not taught experiences in the past.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that history plays a vital role in our life, teaching us meaningful and realistic lessons. That children lacking basic historic knowledge may lead to many problems for nations.