People's opinions differ as to whether homework is necessary to educate children or not

HOMEWORK TOPIC IELTS TASK 2

SOME PEOPLE BELIEVE THAT SCHOOL CHILDREN SHOULD NOT BE GIVEN HOMEWORK BY THEIR TEACHERS, WHEREAS OTHERS ARGUE THAT HOMEWORK PLAYS AN IMPORTANT ROLE IN THE EDUCATION OF CHILDREN. DISCUSS BOTH OF THESE VIEWS AND GIVE YOUR OWN OPINION.

People's opinions differ as to whether homework is necessary to educate children or not. To a certain extent, I believe homework still plays a significant role in helping children excel at school.

On the one hand, critics argue that homework is no longer an effective tool to impart knowledge to children. Children should have more free time for leisure activities and sports, which are essential for them to achieve work-life balance after heavy workload at school. In addition, homework is not the only way to educate children. Through outdoor activities interacting with peers and society, children are likely to learn more practical skills than just sitting for hours doing homework. It is recognized that play time is just as beneficial as study time from the perspective of brain development.

On the other hand, I support the view that homework has an important role to play in the schooling of children. Indeed, it takes time to memorize new concepts or terminologies and homework is a simple way to assist children to review what they have learnt. Practice makes perfect so children definitely need homework to get a better grasp of a particular subject. Children can also learn how to apply the knowledge they learn at school into practical circumstances and examples which makes things more comprehensible. In addition, homework can keep children's mind busy so they will not be distracted by detrimental hobbies such as watching TV or playing video games compulsively.

In conclusion, I believe homework is indispensable for children's education and children will gain more than they lose from doing homework.