(IELTS) People in the past used to be more dependent on one another

People in the past used to be more dependent on one another, whereas nowadays the lead a more independent life. Do you agree or disagree?

In this dynamic world, people have built up a strong problem solving skill through adapting the changing environment and they rarely seek for others' assistance. Thus, some believe that people are becoming more independent than they used to be. Personally, I do not agree with the claim that people are losing their interdependent behaviours.

The favourable view toward people's independence suggests that mankind nowadays are encouraged to be independent since they were teenage. As parents has lesser time spent with their children mainly due to job issues, children have learnt how to take care of themselves. Therefore, they have already developed an independent character through their growing up lives. Besides that, the prevalence of the Internet has substituted the way people searching for help. They rather post questions on some forums than talking with their families or seeking advice from their friends.

On the other hand, there are increased occasions that people have to rely on one another. For career perspective, some jobs like engineering are specialised and sophisticated which require people working as a team and co-operating with each other. Moreover, there are circumstance where the Internet cannot offer any help. For instance, when facing some problems such as financial difficulties, it is undeniable that people are dependent on others' assistance, either from families or friends.

To conclude, the dynamic world has forced people to cooperate with each other. Although the Internet has change the way people seeking assistances, they are still dependent on others when it comes to serious difficulties.