More people put their personal information online (address, telephone number...) for everyday (ielts

Task 2:

More people put their personal information online (address, telephone number...) for everyday activities such as socializing on social networks or banking purposes.

Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, it is becoming increasingly common for people to provide their personal details online. Although this practice might facilitate a better user experience, I believe the trend is negative as people will likely be vulnerable to cyber-crimes.

To begin with, posting personal information online brings lots of benfits. The key factor is that by providing the Internet with personal data, users are effortlessly able to log into some social networks or other platforms and this leads to the convenience in many aspects. For example, when consumers want to purchase any products on e-commercial websites such as Amazon or Alibaba, they can immediately order as all the necessary information for delivery had been saved since the log-in step. Furthermore, it is uncomplicated for people to broaden their social relationship and also a convenient way to get in contact with their relatives and friends.

On the other hand, I wholehearted believe that putting private details on social media open a way to execute criminal activities. The first reason is the address, telephone number and any personal data can be stolen by sophisticated cyber-crimes and used for negative purposes such as scam, blackmails and so on. As a result, people whose information are leaked might have to face up with numerous consequences. To be more specific, almost victims of cyber- crimes have gone through lots of difficulties in not only finance but also health. Their entire money in banking account is took away, which means they do not have any savings to make ends meet. Morever, the victims might contract to some diseases such as autism or axiety disorders due to the financial pressure.

In conclusion, despite the advantages of sharing personal information online, I hold a belief that users should be aware of the serious risks of publicising private details to protect themselves from cyber-attack.