WRITING TASK 2 - MANY PEOPLE CANNOT READ OR WRITE.

Illiteracy is still a serious problem

Nowadays, many people cannot read or write. What problems does this cause? What measures can governments take to solve these problems?

It is noticeable that people's literacy has been improved significantly since the existence of educational system. While most inhabitants are capable of reading and writing, there are still a number of residents who can not. I would argue that one principal factor is responsible for this tragedy, and many things should be done approriately to solve this issue.

From my perspectives, when people could not read or write properly, they would be more likely to have difficulties noticing and understanding their surroundings. One of the most crucial factor contributing to the illiteracy is poverty. Children, who deserve to be educated, lose the chance to go to schools if their families do not have enough money to pay for their necessities and their kids' school's fee. Consequently, many of pupils and students have to drop out of schools, to earn their livings from physical occupations. Illiteracy is unavoidable, and a community full of illiterate residents is created with lots of concerns.

There are, however, policies which national and local authorities can adopt to enhance these matters. For a start, resources should be allocated to provide basic literacy in local colleges or social and community centres to help people learn to read and write. Secondly, charity campaigns should be held to donate money to poor and remote areas so that they can pay off their daily basis and debts. This is prone to the presence of students at classes, as they will not have to work to earn their wages anymore. Finally, governments in developing countries should implement policies and strategies to ensure that everyone has the rights to pursue a basic education which enables them to broaden their knowledge.

In conclusion, although illiteracy is a serious problem, our society can curb this issue by adopting and implementing proper plans and policies, to help the illiterate read and write.