IELTS TASK 2_ People have the right to university education, and government should make it free

Please give me some feebacks. Thanks so much.

Topic: Some people believe that people have the right to university education, and government should make it free no matter what their financial background. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

free education will have a negative consequences

Many people argue that universities are available to everyone from all walks of life. While I believe that higher education is a human right, I disagree that governments should offer a free university education to all people.

On the one hand, higher education will bring a lot of advantages to the young. Firstly, going to universities or colleges is a huge opportunity to learn and build a solid knowledge base. This will be useful and practical for those who want to become teachers or pursue a postgraduate degree. Secondly, universities give students an open environment to develop essential skills for the future. For example, they can make friends with other students coming from other countries, exchange languages, and learn about different cultures. As a result, their communication skills will be better, and they also have a deeper understanding of the world around them.

However, I disagree with the idea that universities should be free to everyone. In Vietnam, if the government provided free university education, this would lead to low quality of education. When a student doesn't have to pay free tuition fees, he can consider learning as a hobby and show a lack of commitment. Meanwhile, people who are forced to pay for their education will attempt to achieve good results at universities because it's their investment for future. Furthermore, there are many other sectors which need the support of government funds. When tuition fees are shared, governments have extra money to provide for health care, environment, and public transportation.

In conclusion, everyone has the right to access universities or colleges. However, I believe that free education is not affordable because this will have a negative effect on students, governments, and the whole society.