Should people never be satisfied with what they have? Jane Austine's pride

this is my toefl essay, but i don't whether it is good.please give me some help.thanks!

People should never be satisfied with what they have. They should always want something new and something different. Do you agree or disagree?

It is universally acknowledged that people should never be satisfied with what they have, which seems to be a propensity inherent in human nature. We all have read in Jane.Austine's pride and prejudice that "It is a truth acknowledged universally, that a single man in possession of a large fortune must be, in want of a wife". Consequently, I tend to believe that people should always want something new and something different. There are several reasons can support my view. Here, I just explain couple of reasons.

On the most abstract level, the spirit of dissatisfaction constitutes the very force that has propelled human civilization forward in the course of human history. Stimulated by the thirst for knowledge from within and challenged by the harshness of the environment from without, man has evolved triumphantly from the most primitive to the most advanced and sophisticated. Without the spirit of pursuing a better life, neither would we take advantage of fire for lightening and cooking nor create language in order to work efficiently. It is precisely the inquiring mind and his aspiring nature that distinguish human from other animals.

When come to present modern world, this insatiable desire is the fundamental component giving the progress of science and technology. During ancient time, despite the fact that we live a superior life to birds, people always had a longing for flying in the sky just like birds. Therefore, several generations striving for this dream, at last, in 1903, Wright brothers made this dream come true through the invention of plan. Moreover, human beings also want to travel into the unknown depths of universe to explore its mysteries. In 1969, The Apollo 11 mission was the first manned mission to land on the Moon, "hat's one small step for a man, and one giant leap for mankind" said by Armstrong. The mounting number of scientists and inventors has dedicated themselves to science out of their noble aspiration of improving the life quality and their curiosity about the unknown world.

Finally, we have to admit that personal improvement relies on people's dissatisfaction with current situation. We know that, with all the material wealth we have accumulated, we can enjoy a comfortable life, even a well-to-do life. However, we are also fully aware that life of this level is not the best. Take Mary, my older sister for example. Mary's hometown is a small, slow-pace town near Yangtze River. She was always dissatisfied with the tedious life in this small town. So after graduating from Beingjing University, she was determined to stay in Beingjing, the capital of China, in order to meet new challenges, finding more working opportunities. Through her endeavor, she found a position in NOKIA, living an intriguing life as other metropolitan residents. Recently, Mary is planning to go abroad for further study. She is not contented to be an ordinary office lady forever; hence she prefers to recharge herself so as to improve her competitiveness. We want to have luxuries, spacious houses, happy life, in order to achieve these goals we work hard and keep going forward everyday.

Admittedly, there are several exceptions to this general rule. According to an ancient Chinese saying that "those who constantly feel satisfied with whatever they have tend to be happy". However, I would rather interpret this as implying that people's sense of satisfaction results from the precious and meaningful lessons during the striving process instead of only valuing the consequence. We can safely conclude that people should never be satisfied with what they have. In the future, there must be more splendid scenery.