Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end hunger and poverty, while others ...

economic growth's impact on people's wealth and health

some people say that economic growth is the only way to end hunger and poverty, while others say that economic growth is damaging the environment so it must be stopped. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People's opinion differ as to whether economic growth help to reduce the poverty or it would contaminates our environment system. While there are some strong arguments with the former view, but I believe that it effect our ecosystem in many ways.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why people think that rise in economy will remove their poverty and fulfill their basic needs. Firstly, to grow up the economy countries invest their money to open the new industries, and as a result, there would be new job opportunities for unemployed person. Consequently, people's get the job and could spend the money on basic amenities. Besides that, government can also get the taxes from these enterprises, which they could use to build a new houses for needy people. For example, countries like, in New Zealand or Canada, many house built by their government to remove the poverty and fulfill the need of people who don't have the house.

On the other hand, I believe that opening new companies will result in deforestation and pollution. For example, to open up the new industries authorities need a land, and therefore they will either cut the trees or buy the land from farmers, but in these both ways they will pollute the environment. Because companies emit dangerous gases into the environment, which will deplete the ozone layer, throw their garbage and chemicals into nearby pool or river, result in water pollution, and also use the vehicles to import/export their products, which will create noise and soil pollution. At last, it's important for government to take care of their environment besides to opening a new industries.

In conclusion, rise up in economy certainly has some benefits, but I think that its drawbacks outweigh them in long term.