People should scrutinize the ideas and actions of people in positions of authority - Napoleon story

Please correct my grammar errors, and tell me if I have strong reasons and specify examples. Thank you.

Is it important to question the ideas and the decisions of people in position of authority?

There are many people who entirely believe and trust the ideas of authorities because most of them have received a good education and most are elites of the country, company or group. However, it is important to question them if we consider some of their ideas or actions impotent as they are also humans and are prone to mistakes. Also, being in a position of authority doesn't mean that he or she is the only member of the country or group.

People trust in dignitaries mainly because they think that dignitaries are the most intelligent in a country or group and will do their best. That said, upper classmen are also humans; they are not perfect, and so can make mistakes. A first example to draw upon is historical. When Napoleon Bonaparte wanted to conquer Europe, and was so close to success. He decided to attack Russia in winter, but it was a very bad idea since it was difficult for the soldiers to assimilate such cold and snow. However, nobody grilled Napoleon about his plan because he was in position of authority. This decision of not questioning Napoleon had a great impact on his militia. They lose the battle and many soldiers died from the cold.

Abraham Lincoln once said, "A government of the people, by the people, for the people, shall not perish from the Earth." This quote emphasized the importance of questioning the authority. The people with political power are chosen by the folk, but the government is of everyone. Therefore, everyone has the right to doubt the authority because we are all part of the government. If people do not question those in authority, power figures will do what they want and not what the majority wants.

In conclusion, we can see via the history of Napoleon and many others that people should scrutinize the ideas and actions of people in positions of authority. In this way, we can prevent future conflicts and failures.