People should sometimes do things they do not enjoy doing as it can be beneficial

Hi, I will have the toefl test this week and am trying to improve my writing skill. I will be very appreciated if you guys can give comments on my content, grammar and word choice. Thank you in advance.

trying new things

Should people do things that they do not enjoy doing? The answer to this question will assuredly vary from people to people. Some may support this statement believing that it can enrich our experiences, while others can oppose, arguing that we should focus on what we like and do best. Based on my own experiences as a youngster, I prefer the former opinion and agree that sometimes, we should do things we dislike. Below, I will give my arguments and examples to substantiate this point of view.

In life, we usually like to indulge ourselves with pleasures even when they may not bring benefits to us, such as buying expensive phones despite a limited budget or skipping classes to hang out with friends. On the other hand, things that are not very enjoyable to execute can actually be beneficial. My personal experience with exercising can serve as an example. As a busy person juggling with work, study and social activities simultaneously, I usually ate out and rarely went to the gym. I was hesitant to exercise because it required much energy and effort. Moreover, I was already exhausted by other tasks. As a result, after four years living with this hectic lifestyle, I was diagnosed with high blood pressure disease, which forced me to alter my living condition and join more outing activities. Currently, with a proper eating diet and regular exercising schedule, I succeed in keeping my blood pressure in the average range. From this example, it can be seen that the things we do not enjoy doing can sometimes be of great help to us.

What's more, trying new things not only broadens your horizon but also helps you discover your capabilities, especially when you are a teenager. As youngsters usually have an immature viewpoint of life, they may not make the wisest decisions. Thus, experiencing different things can teach them valuable lessons and guide them in the right direction. For instance, after finishing high school, I still could not make up my mind about my career path. Therefore, I decided to take a gap year and try various jobs and internships in order to discover my passion. Surprisingly, despite my unfavorable opinions of accountant and auditor, I realized that I truly enjoyed my accounting internship and excelled in all the tasks I was given. At the same time, the incident also taught me to be more open-minded and to never judge a book by its cover. As you can clearly see, doing things that seem not very exciting or enjoyable can open up many unexpected opportunities and bring us cherished lessons.

Based on the above illustrations, I believe that people should sometimes do things they do not enjoy doing as it can be beneficial and broaden their horizon.