Some people spend a lot of time watching sports programs on TV or following their favorite sports ..

Q: Some people spend a lot of time watching sports programs on TV or following their favorite sports teams. Does this have a negative influence on the lives of these people?

People have their own entertainments to perform in their leisure time and these hobbies usually make them fresh and joyful. Among entertainments, following favorite sports teams is one the most popular activities which youngsters enjoy it a lot and do it along with their peers. Even though some people believe that following a favorite team can be worthwhile, I, personally, believe that this activity has several negative influences on the lives of people and change their behaviors badly over time. I feel this way due to two reasons which I will explore in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, as I have witnessed, when people are watching a live contest, they scream, shout, and cry loudly and it does not matter where they watch the match, either at home or a club. In this situation, they make lots of noise which sometimes bother the other people who are present near to them. In my own experience, when I was a senior in high school, my brother, who is 4 years older than me, was watching a live soccer game which was an important match between local teams. As I remember, he shouted and cried all 90 minutes of the match such that I could not study even one page of my mathematics course during the match. It really annoyed me because I had an exam the next day and I needed a silent zone to focus on my course.

Secondly, when their team wins, the people are happy and so excited and when their team loses, they are angry. In this way, their extraordinary happiness or anger can negatively affect their lives. For instance, I have an uncle who is an actual fan of a Volleyball team and always follows its matches. Two years ago, his team had a very important match in the world league and he was really excited thanks to the match. Fortunately, his team won the game and at the time my uncle was very joyful about it. As his wife told us, after the game, he had started to call many of his friends and invited all of them to a luxury restaurant. He had paid much money, virtually half of his salary in a month, to show his happiness to his friends! Or in another example, his wife told us after a match, which his favorite team had lost the game, he had become very angry and upset, afterward, his behavior with his wife and his children had been awful for 3-4 days!

To sum up, although having something to follow can be entertaining, sometimes they negatively influence the lives of people. People should be strongly careful about the effects of being a fan of sports teams. They must watch their own behavior during and after the matches.