Most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is very important

Job Satisfaction (writing task 2)

As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual wellbeing.

What factors contribute to job satisfaction?

How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

Satisfaction of employees has become the main determinant as full-time workers spending the most time in the workplace. Providing an optimal work environment and challenges for advancement are the way to achieve this, but the engagement of each worker cannot be made generally as a whole due to economic and skills background.

Two elements that boost employees' satisfaction are conducive circumstances and the presences of higher career path. When people spend much time in the same places, the spacious room and good arrangement furniture hold an important part in creating pleasure which influences appraisal between employees and boss. When the companies also give a chance to enhance their skills and give a promotion for those who reach higher achievement on the job training, this will consider as feedback issues from employers to employees for their better career. To illustrate this, a good decorative restaurant will attract more visitors to stay for hours after eating, and there are meeting facilities that are always full booking. What drives them to enjoy gathering in such a place? From this illustration, it would give a similar condition if the workplace is established as convenient as this restaurant which results in the increased output. Then, what about the challenge? Majority of workers in India seek jobs to acquire new skills and promotion rather than salary motivation standing the lowest percentages among the options available.

On the other hand, the satisfaction is often neglected by employees due to their financial and poor skills. Some workers will remain in their work as they need money for fulfilling life necessities, and especially if they are unskilled, this forces them continuing as blue-collar workers for a long time. For example, a security guard even remains in this position for more than 30 years as he has to feed their family and pay school payment. Because he does not have a good qualification, the bosses will not offer promotion as a staff in those companies.

In conclusion, job satisfaction can be ensured by providing good circumstances to work or discuss and training program holds the vital element to be more satisfied while this expectation is not a major demand for certain employees.