IELTS WRITING TASK 2: Should people take their families with them to other countries.

Topic:

Many people work in other countries these days. They also take their families with them.

Give your opinion about the situation. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is a popular trend that people immigrate to other nations and bring along their family members. While this trend has several drawbacks, I believe that the overall benefits are more significant.

Admittedly, there are two main difficulties children might experience when they first move to a country. Firstly, it is the culture gap and language barriers that hold them back from making new friends. In the light of these obstacles, children, especially introverted ones, tend to avoid interacting with other people, and thus, they are likely to suffer from loneliness and melancholy. Secondly, children's education will be interrupted if they have to move to a new country. Not only because the school's bureaucracy takes time, but because parents also have to deal with a lot of paperwork, which could take up to months, in order for their children to migrate with them.

Despite the availability of the arguments mentioned above, I believe that the benefits of moving to a new country with a whole family far outweigh the drawbacks. The main objective of living in family units instead of separating as individuals is to take care of each other. Children need to have parents around to share and guide them through life's struggles while having children alongside means greater companionship for expatriates' parents. Apart from that, in many cases, people work in developed countries where educational systems outperform that of their motherland. It is obvious that their children will get a finer education or even be able to secure a seat in some prestigious university of that country.

In conclusion, although children might have to deal with some immediate problems at first, I believe the long-term benefits of bringing their families with them to other countries outweigh the disadvantages.