People tend to live alone which may have both beneficial and detrimental effects

In some countries, many more people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

the increase of single living

In recent years, it has been becoming increasingly common that people tend to live alone. In my opinion, this trend could give rise to both disadvantages and advantages.

On the one hand, if there are more people chose to live individually, this trend can gain some benefits. As living individually, a person could become more mature and may have more useful skills for the future. A worker lives alone far away from home, for instance, no longer receives money support from his parents, he is able to gain money management skill to control his expenditure. Besides, the worker can learn how to protect his possessions from thieves. For example, living alone means that he cannot constrain the stealers from sneaking in his home during the time he is at his working time at company. Therefore, he has to find a careful way to keep his asset safe.

On the other hand, there are several disadvantages for this tendency. As living alone, the individual has not helps from his roommate. For instance, if the worker was sick and nobody was beside him, he could go to pharmacy to buy some pills by his own foots. It must be a hard for a sick person. Besides, the worker can encounter serious danger when a thieve suddenly come in his house with a knife. It is absolutely obvious that the worker cannot do anything because of living alone; therefore he not also gets any help from roommate but also is not able to scream out loud for help.

In conclusion, the increase of living alone may have both beneficial and detrimental effects on individual. Therefore, there must be a careful consideration between living alone and living with friends.