IELTS WRITING TASK 2 PEOPLE NOWADAYS TEND TO TAKE THEIR FAMILY TO ANOTHER COUNTRY

PEOPLE NOWADAYS TEND TO TAKE THEIR FAMILY TO ANOTHER COUNTRY WHEN THEY WORK ABROAD.

DO THE ADVANTAGES OF THIS OUTWEIGH THE DISADVANTAGES?

These days, people working abroad often have a tendency to take their family to foreign countries with them. Although the trend may have a few drawbacks, I firmly believe that its benefit will overshadow the disadvantages.

On the one hand, these emphasizing the downsides of the trend can premise their standpoint on several aspects. First, living in a new country can be challenging to all members in a family since there are linguistic barriers and cultural differences. To illustrate, a number of Vietnamese women, after moving to Canada with their husbands, have had difficulty speaking English, confiding them to the kitchen as they cannot go out to socialize with local people. This, in the long run, can adversely affect their mental health as well as subject them to mental disorder or autism. Moreover, settling down in other country means the family may have to live far away from their friends and relatives. In this scenario, if there is an undesirable accident, they cannot immediately receive financial and emotional support from their relatives and friends. Hence, this trend may have several disadvantages.

On the other hand, an array of merits can be identified if people take their family to other country with them. First, family members can live under the same roof, which can strengthen family relationship. As a matter of fact, both husbands and wives will obtain more happiness when they join hands to bring up their offspring. Furthermore, children may have a golden opportunity to get access to better educational systems. For instance, since the educational systems in Vietnam could not satisfy local residents, many people working abroad decided to take their family to other countries, in which their children can stand a better chance of entering top-tier institutions. Obviously, the trend can bring about remarkable benefits.

To conclude, although there are several drawbacks, I would argue that bringing the family along when going to work in other countries is far more advantageous than leaving a wife and children behind.