People tend to work and study from home due to the advancements of computer technology

WRITING TASK 2- WORKING FROM HOME

TOPIC: There are more workers to work from home and more students to study from home. This is because computer technology is more and more easily accessible and cheaper. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is true that people tend to work and study from home due to the advancements of computer technology and its economic benefits. While I accept working from home has several benefits, I believe that the development of working and studying online is a negative trend.

If employees and students use their home as a working or studying environment, they can address two main issues. Firstly, they may save time and pay less money on commuting from home to office or school. In other words, instead of being stuck in traffic jams during peak hours or suffering from a lengthy commute, people can have an online meeting at home, which can lead to lower cost of transportation. Secondly, in terms of environmental issues, it is likely that we can reduce the effects of temperature on the volume of gas emissions from private cars and motors. By limiting the number and length of their journeys, it is able to cut down on exhaust fumes releasing from vehicles.

On the other hand, while teleworking might have some benefits, it seems to me that working and studying online is not a good way due to some negative reasons. The first reason is that workers might be challenged with the security concerns. For those who have a job at banks, they will find it difficult to access data which are saved and protected on central's server. When they want to get more information, they need to enter complex code to be able to pass the tight of security system, for example. In addition, remote working encourages a sedentary lifestyle in the long term. People will spend less time doing exercise because they force themselves to stick their eyes to computer's screen every day and it can increase the risk of a physical health such as obesity and myopia.

In conclusion, while I accept that the development of internet can help people work and study more effectively, I believe that working and studying from home is a negative trend.