IELTS TASK 2 - Some people think art is an essential subject while others think it's a waste of time

Some people think that art is an essential subject for children at school while others think it is a waste of time.

Discuss both sides and give your opinion?

is art an useful subject to study?

The question about whether art becomes a necessary course in school curriculum or becomes worthless subject continues to be controversial issues nowadays. This essay will present discussions regarding both points of view along with my personal insight.

On the one hand, those who support art turn to become one of school subject believed that art will play a pivotal role in student development. It will stimulate their creativity when they immerse in this activity. By giving them an empty paper and letting them make something, for instance, will generate their unpredictable ability. Moreover, art enthusiast highlight that art subject will diminish their stress after having serious class, such as mathematics, physic, chemistry, etc. Undoubtedly, this subject will create more fun class and the authority should involve this subject into a school curriculum.

On the other hand, though, opponents of art subject point out that art subject will waste their time. It will be better for them to study others subject. In fact, art is not one of a mandatory subject included in national examination compared to other subjects. Based on that, it might be fabulous to spent time on the primary subject rather than art subject. Furthermore, it is noticeable that art subject is an additional activity for the student which can be an extracurricular activity rather than become school subject.

In my opinion, it is undeniable that the existence of art subject in school curriculum is profoundly essential as long as the length of time does not exceed other main subjects.

To sum up, I believe that art is notable school subject in terms of bolster student creativity and provide a pleasant atmosphere in the class. In contrast, some people frequently thought that art subject is wastage time.