[IELTS]Some people think that children should be studying all the mandatory subjects

Some people think that children should be studying all the mandatory subjects until the age of ten, while others believe they should have an option to select favourite subjects to study. What is your opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples from your experience.

subjects choice for children

Some people believe children before ten years old could choose the subjects what they are interested because it's the best to learn anything. However, in my perspective, children should learn mandatory subjects firstly and then they have more choices to select the favorite subjects in the future.

Young children have great learning abilities to obtain knowledge quickly. Instead of spending time on what they are interested, they should focus on general subjects such as mathematics, language, science, history, and geography. Knowing how the world works is important to prepare them to communicate and cooperate with other people. For instance, a child just likes to study math but he abandons language course. Although he is extremely talented in math, he couldn't find a job because of lack of communication skills. If they don't study basic subject such as geography, they don't even know the geography their own country and even the whole picture of the world. How do they survive without basic knowledge?

In majority children, they don't know their favorite subjects so learning mandatory subjects is great access to inspire the main stuffs they would like to develop.Nevertheless, if the children have passion on specific subjects, there are lots of methods to approach it. Firstly, they can take up after class time to study it. Secondly, joining some school's clubs is a way to extend their enthusiasm. Finally, consolidation on basic knowledge is beneficial for them to get more selection in the future.

In summary, compared to select the favorite subjects, studying mandatory provide more opportunities for children when they are in the age they can choose.