IELTS Writing T2: Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and ...

Topic: Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that money could be better spent in elsewhere. To what extent do you agree with this view?

Some people argue that the government should allocate funds more appropriately to some aspects other than arts. I agree that some city's projects are more important than arts but arts investment can be considered if the government has funds surplus.

Tackling the issues such as infrastructures improvement and transportation system development of a city are essential to increase living standards and safety of the public compared to investing in arts. For example, if the government spends money to widen roads and improve road conditions, car accidents are likely to reduce. Whilst expanding the transportation network by increasing the number of services is also beneficial to commuters who live in remote suburbs. With better facilities in cities, people's life quality can be enhanced, hence to achieve a higher life satisfaction. If the government only have a limited budget for city development, arts should not be included in its plan.

On the other hand, the government can develop arts if it has excess funds. Arts can bring green and attractiveness to a bustling city where people can enjoy and release some stress in life. To illustrate, some arts such as installation arts were made from plants and flowers, which not only color the streets or train stations but also lower the effect of air pollution through absorbing carbon dioxide. Sometimes, arts can be more than just for enjoyment, it also helps greening the environment when the government displays arts on environmentally friendly purposes.

In conclusion, the government should prioritise the available funds based on city's needs before considering arts investment. While arts should be promoted only if the government has residual funds.

Hi! I am Rae.

This is my first post in this forum, I am trying to achieve band 8 in writing in IELTS. I am studying IELTS by myself and have attended IELTS two times in 18 months, writing is the only part that I did not improve and scored the same as the first attempt, which is 6.5.