IELTS Essay Some people think that having a set retirement age (65 years) for everybody is unfair

Some people think that having a set retirement age (65 years) for everybody is unfair. They believe that certain workers deserve to retire and receive pension at an earlier age?

Do you agree or disagree ?

What types of worker should get early retirement?

Give reasons to your answer and include relevant example from your knowledge and experience

the ideal retirement age

When it comes to decide what should be the ideal retirement age, different people have different views. Some believe every individual should retire after 65 years, regardless to his profession, while others maintain employees working for longer hours and in tough environmental conditions must retire at early age and receive pension benefits. I completely support the idea that authorities must consider the type of work to fix the retirement age.

First of all, Army personnel and defence staff always work for more 15 hours a day. Moreover, their job demands high standard of physical fitness and alertness. With such requirements one cannot work after 45 years whereas doctors and advocate could practice even at 65. Thus army men should get retire earlier.

Similarly, workers, working in mining industries such as coal mining, have to work in awful work conditions needs special consideration. Furthermore, such surroundings pose a serious threat to workers' health, For instance, in 2010 world health organization published a report that presented every year 1 million employees especially from mining business are diagnosed with lung cancer and the reason is inhalation of coal ashes. Hence, if mining workers are forced to work at their later age then their life expectancy would fall much shorter so they must retire earlier as compare to other professionals such as teachers.

In conclusion, it is the best approach to consider nature of the job for deciding the retirement age. As some types of workforce such as security and mining workers need special attention because of hazardous and tough working conditions which could have detrimental affect on their health so government should plan their early retirement.