[IELTS] Some people think that it is necessary to travel abroad to learn about other countries

The best way to get deep understanding about foreign cultures

Some people think that it is necessary to travel abroad to learn about other countries, but other people think that it is not necessary to travel abroad because all the information can be seen at TV and the internet. Discuss both opinions and give your own opinion.

Considering the ongoing diversification in our society, people are now more interested to broaden their prospects about cultures of different nations. While many beleive that with the digital age, one can learn a lot about other countries without visit them, I would argue learning is possible but to a certain extend, it is required to visit the nations to fully learn about them.

On the one side, with the rise in vlogging culture and the international Television Channels, it is possible to have first-hand experience about the life in any foreign country. The reason for this is, many vloggers record their whole day and post on the social platforms for others to experience their life. Especially within students, they can experience their whole day in foreign universities in advance without even visiting them. Furthermore, it has become a prevalent idea to install a 360 Degree on a tourist location and broadcast the feed on internet, which, as a result, allows people around the globe enjoy a virtual experience.

Nevertheless, I would argue that although watching video's and reading blog is convenient but one cannot learn enough until they experience it in the real life. For illustration, it is not possible to learn a language by just reading books and listening tutorial, a pragmatic approach, such as interaction with native speaker's is required. Besides, internet lacks emotions. Argument goes that, eventhough their is plenty of information and clips available about nine-eleven, world trade center attacks, but you will only experience the real-pain and destruction after standing around ground zero.

In conclusion, Despite the avalaibility of number of resource on internet to learn about any foreign destination, I beleive, physically presence is required to have the deep understanding about cultures and incidents.