Ielts Writing Task 2: Some people think the news has no connection to people's lives

Question: Some people think the news has no connection to people's lives. So then it is a waste of time to read the newspaper and watch television news programs.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Newspaper and electronic news are some of the most popular media to keep people updated with current circumstances around the globe. While many individuals think they are useless due to their irrelevant content to society, I completely differ on this opinion attributed to several reasons.

First and foremost, the newspaper provides knowledge ranging from social subjects to scientific fields. In order to meet the needs of all kinds of readers, the topics of news articles and programs are diverse. For instance, The Guardian - one of the most popular newspapers - offers a user-friendly interface which is precisely divided into specified pages such as social news, environmental issues, medical and scientific breakthroughs which allow viewers to find desired information easily. As a result, they can apply these pieces of knowledge in reality, which proves the practical use of news. Many university professors also encourage their students to read the news to help with their research.

Another important point is that the newspaper is an ideal tool to connect civilization. Since the majority of the population cannot afford overseas vacations, newspapers and news programs seem to be the perfect visualizations of other cultures. Given the fact that reporters are required to interview local witnesses, information from the news is considered objective, realistic, and accurate. Furthermore, electronic newspapers are now available in several languages and locations so that foreigners can learn about others without traveling. ASEAN sports newspaper exemplifies this precisely. During the COVID-19 pandemic, when people cannot watch football matches directly, not only do news articles keep viewers updated but the comment section also allows football supporters to discuss with others regardless of their geographic distance. Therefore, without face-to-face interactions, different communities can still be connected and tightened thanks to the news.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that news is excelled at connecting different people owing to the availability of global access and an excessive amount of knowledge offered. It is highly recommended for people, especially youngsters, to read newspapers to broaden their horizons.