IELTS Writing Task 2: Some people think that space exploration is a waste of resources while others

Some people think that space exploration is a waste of resources while others think that it is essential for mankind to continue to explore the universe in which we live.

Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Along with technology innovation, humankind is making its steps towards space exploration. Such huge change has caused an argument: some people believe this progress overuses resources, while the others show a great avocation. To my view, it is necessary for men to continue this journey; however, the usage of resources should be considered.

Conquest of outer space has taken away parts of government expenditures and natural resources. Developed countries, especially great nations such as the United States and Russia, have invested a huge amount of state budget in planetary exploration. It is reported that the United States has spent more than twenty billion dollars annually on NASA in recent years. Furthermore, because the universe out there is a discrepancy from our planet Earth, sophisticated technology is indispensable for astronauts' safety and space travel efficiency. Governments need to use a plethora of available resources to develop aerospace technology since it requires a wide range of different natural assets.

Although this science is expensive, its necessity is undeniable. Understanding the Earth is not enough; space exploration helps humans to predict the future of mankind. Planetary exploration contributes to predicting the time the Earth collapses with other asteroids and discovering another livable planet. Moreover, many individuals now show a big interest in encountering our "neighbours" in outer space. Humans can therefore apply new knowledge and bring Earth life to a higher stage.

By way of conclusion, space science has numerous advantages that it should be focused on and developed in the near and far future. Still, governments should spend a considerable amount of national budget and natural resources so that it will not affect other national preoccupations and global issues.