Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed

Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer.

What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

Several universities' curriculum provide knowledge and vocational training for student to face job challenge. Some people agree that it can lead students to be more prepare in work place atmosphere. However, I personally believe that university should offer knowledge according to students sake instead of employers' necessity.

I would argue that knowledge and skill are needed for students to be ready for working in companies. For example, social grace, communication, managing people and accounting are essential for school leaver or fresh graduate to find a job. As a result, they have to learn particular skill in the university or school.

In addition, employee become more professional in working. Result shows that 60 % of professional workers have studied in universities that had been acquired the knowledge and skill training. It thus clear that university should offer building skill knowledge in order to make them to be more professional in term of working.

On the other hand, universities do not have to focus on the companies needs. College institution should develop students to be a great future leader. As an obvious example, one of the institution in Indonesia namely LPDP provides scholarships for many students in order to make them to be a pioneer in country development. It gives an opportunity for the next generation studying in the highly education to prepare them to be the next nation's leader. There is no doubt that students are nation's asset, so that university must provide the knowledge for students' sake rather than for companies needs.

The aforementioned evidence shows that although vocational training in universities can make students to be more prepared and professional, it necessary to keep in mind that students should to be thought how to be a leader instead of be follower. I recommend for government to be more concentrate as the students' potential.