Ielts task 2: many people try to look younger than their age, causes and opinion

younger look is trendy

Many people try to look younger than their age. What are the reasons people do this? Do you think this is a good or bad thing?

It is true that many people nowadays are trying to change their body image in order to appear younger. This trend, which is entirely negative in my opinion, is based on many factors.

Firstly, advertisements of cosmetic products overwhelmingly promote a false idea of beauty by modifying people's perception of what real beauty is. People are persuaded to resist any physical signs of aging such as facial wrinkles by using these products in order to look more awesome in the eyes of others. A further factor is that people's desire to engage in social relationships derives them to try hard to look younger. In Egypt, for example, the older a woman becomes, the harder it would be for her to get married because the society usually perceives old women as less desired. This, as a result, forces a significant number of females to modify their physical appearance to look younger.

Despite these factors, there are significant drawbacks associated with this trend. Many people have become so obsessed with their self-image that they waste a lot of money and effort in order to look younger. They tend to buy myriads of cosmetic products and up-to-date fashionable clothes, by which they hopefully can change the way they look. This, consequently, puts a tremendous financial as well as psychological strain on the victims. The physical danger can be another critical effect, by which people might incline into harmful procedures to look younger such as plastic surgeries. These operations, unless for medical purposes, put people at risk of having potential complications such as damaging their normal facial anatomy.

In conclusion, many people are continuously trying to look younger mainly due to the overwhelming of advertisements and the eagerness to gain social acceptance by others. This trend has substantial negative impacts on people's finances as well as their psychological and physical health.